The Ten Commandments Silver Set

Silver 999, 38 mm, 31.1 gr

In stock
More Information
Issuing Year 2014
Material Silver
Fineness 999
Weight 31.1 gr
Diameter 38 mm
Max Mintage 1000
Design Ruben Nutels


The Ten Commandments -

The Book of Exodus, Chapter 19, describes the revelation and Giving of the Law on Mount Sinai. On the first day of Sivan, the third month after the Exodus from Egypt, the Children of Israel reached the Sinai Desert and camped near Mount Sinai. During their few weeks of traveling in the desert, they had been under Divine protection, witnessing daily miracles and their faith in G-d had strengthened. Moses ascended Mount Sinai and returned to the people, passing on the word of G-d. Unanimously, the people answered "Everything G-d has said, we will do". As commanded by G-d through Moses, the people prepared for the third day, when the L-rd was to descend upon Mount Sinai before the eyes of the people. Boundaries were set around the mountain, for they were forbidden to touch or ascend.
Dawn of the third day broke amid thunder and lightning. Heavy clouds hung over the mountain, and with the steadily growing sounds of the Shofar, the ram's horn, the people trembled with fear. Moses led the Children of Israel out of the camp to the foot of Mount Sinai, which was quaking and covered by smoke; G-d had descended upon it in fire. The sound of the Shofar grew louder, but suddenly all sounds ceased, and an absolute silence ensued; and then G-d proclaimed the Ten Commandments.

Later, Moses was to receive two stone tablets inscribed by G-d Himself with the Ten Commandments:
1. I am the Lord thy G-d, Who have brought thee out of the land
of Egypt, out of the house of bondage.
2. Thou shalt have no other gods beside Me. Thou shalt not
make for thyself a graven image…
3. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy G-d in vain…
4. Remember the Sabbath Day, to keep it holy…
5. Honor thy father and thy mother…
6. Thou shalt not murder.
7. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
8. Thou shalt not steal.
9. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's house.

The first five Commandments are concerned with the relationship between Man and G-d, while the second five focus on the relationship between Man and his neighbor. The first five Commandments emphasize faith in G-d, the prohibitions to create any likeness of G-d or take His name in vain and the Commandments to honor the Sabbath and ones parents, who are partners with G-d in the creation of their children.
Traditionally in Judaism, special importance is attributed to the Ten Commandments as headings for all the 613 commandments. The Ten Commandments are read three times during the year in the Synagogue, once during the Reading of the Law, when the "Yithro (Jethro)" Torah portion from the Book of Exodus is read, once when "Va'Ethannan" from Deuteronomy is read and once on the festival of Shavuoth, commemorating the time of the Giving of the Law.

Each of the inspiring medals in this series artistically represents one of the Ten Commandments. The common side of the medals in the series depicts the Tablets of the Law and bears the Holy Land Mint logo by which Israel Coins and Medals Corp. is recognized internationally, as well as the metal fineness.

Designer : Ruben Nutels.
Mint : ICMC, Israel

Issue Name: The Ten Commandments

Series Name: Non Serialized

Catalog SKU Condition Diameter Issue Price Material Quantity Weight
71950140 13.92 mm Unavailable Info Gold 9999 10000 1.244 gr
71950380 38 mm 3990 NIS Silver 999 1000 31.1 gr
71950540 13.92 mm 7680 NIS Platinum 9995 180 1.244 gr